top of page

Van or Skoolie Life? That is the question...


So I have been watching so many YouTube videos on van life and skoolie bus life, also tiny home living... which is what I thought I wanted to do at first now I'm not so sure which one to decide on.

I really don't have much money so it's definitely gonna have to be on the cheaper route. I can't stop watching them though. It's an awesome idea to do this, and it's becoming even more excepted than it use to be just living out of your van like a hippie or gypsy. it has such a vast community of people living this lifestyle, and I just love the idea and concept of travel when you want, work when you want, and live peacefully. Watching these videos, y'all are so kind and humble. You pick up trash that isn't yours leaving the earth greener than when you got there. That's how people should be, how God wants us to be; humble and kind and giving. I love that, and want to be part of a community like that, meet people like that from all over.

Anyways, back to the subject matter...

What should I get in the future? What would be ideal for me and my dog on the road?

I'd like something that I can build of course, that way it's my own. I have no building skills whatsoever or tools for that matter ha! But I do have a lot of friends that are mechanical, and some know how to build things, so maybe I could ask for some help when it comes down to it.

But first... what do I decide on??

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------

My ideas:

I want something that has a lot of storage however I do want to go somewhat minimalist but I find there are just some things I can not get rid of... and I have tons of clothes... Most of them being given to me, thank the Lord for that.

I definitely what a bathroom with a shower and composting toilet.

I also would prefer something that can go off road, onto those random dirt passages that people see when road-tripping. That would be ideal, to find camping spots and such, or even better views of areas no one else gets to view. You know what I mean.

I would like to have a passenger seat next to me while driving just in case I ever have someone with me or Aurora... my dog decides she's wants frontal views, and the wind in her face.

I want a lot of sunlight or natural lighting inside the home, windows, skylights.. etc. However, if in a bus, I would want to make some of those windows into walls, which is more costly to do I'm sure.

I want a good sized kitchen, with a stand up fridge, doesn't have to be a normal size but something like an RV size would be better for me than say a mini fridge.

Lots of power, maybe both solar and propane? Definitely need solar panels, it seems the more the better, a lot of videos I see where they have a good amount is at least 3-4 panels.

I would like a deck... I think that is awesome.

I'd like it to have some kind of towing package so I can tow a car if need be, or trailer.

Air a must, heat a must, I would like to put in a wood stove, one that has the ability to pan cook on top of the stove. I get cold super easy, so I definitely need more heat. Air for the hotter months and to help keep the dog cool when needed to stay in the home.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

So... those are just some of the ideas I would like to include into what I am looking to accomplish in the future.

I've been thinking about tiny homes for about a year now, and just getting the ideas of van and school buses (which are cheaper) I'm thinking of going more that route.. at least to start out to see what I like. If I even like it. Which I think I most likely will, I love driving and exploring new places so I think that'll be fine.

What are some ideas you home on wheel lifers think? I'm new to this stuff, and want to travel so bad. Of course I need to save the money first, but I want to start asap, get out of the mom's house, stop paying butt loads of rent and trying to make the bills every month, and start feeling self sufficient again, I just want to start living on my own again, in a rent free way, so I can save money, live on the road just me and my dog and go wherever I'm called, wherever the wind takes me.

What are your thoughts, opinions, ideas, suggestions...etc?!!

All the help I can get on this will be much appreciated.

Thank you for tuning in!

bottom of page